Now Reading
Quick notes: F1’s 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at Silverstone

Quick notes: F1’s 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at Silverstone


2020 is the 70th anniversary of grand prix racing and it all began back in May 13, 1950 at the hallowed track of Silverstone.

Here are some of the highlights that the Northamptonshire track has given fans through the years.

  • The first race in the history of F1 was won by Giuseppe Farina on board the Alfa Romeo, with Luigi Fagioli and Reg Parnell in second and third, respectively.
  • The inaugural race had 150,000 people attend to watch history unfold.
  • The first Briton to win the British GP was Sir Sterling Moss in 1955.
  • In the history of the British GP, the race was won by 108 different drivers, and 39 nationalities
  • In 2020, Lewis took his 155th Podium, putting him on equal terms with Michael Schumacher in most career podiums.
  • Max Verstappen took the win for the 70th Anniversary race, which was the first win of Red Bull in Silverstone since Mark Webber did it back in 2012.
  • Ferrari, as a constructor, has won the British GP a record 16 times, with Mclaren taking 14, and Williams having 10 wins.
  • Lewis Hamilton has won the British GP seven times; the only active driver on the grid to win multiple times is Sebastian Vettel.

IN PHOTO: Red Bull’s Dutch driver Max Verstappen pumps his fist after winning the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at Silverstone. Agence France Presse