Now Reading
Team MSCC Mazda Miata wins 4-Hour Kagitingan Cup

Team MSCC Mazda Miata wins 4-Hour Kagitingan Cup

Alvin Uy

Mazda’s MX-5 was the big winner at the recently-concluded 2023 Petron 4-hour Kagitingan Cup held last April 16th.

Team MSCC Mazda Miata completed 89 laps and clocked the best time of 1:56.054, winning the Class 1 and Open A categories for the 4-hour race. The team also finished second overall for the 2-hour race.

It was a rainy and wet Sunday, which made the track more challenging for the 24 teams vying for the top awards at the Batangas Racing Circuit. But race veterans Angie King, Tyson Sy, and Windy Imperial ably handled the challenge and showed off their driving skills with the MX-5.

“I’m fatigued from doing all the racing at the Batangas Racing Circuit, but I’m thankful for the performance of the MX-5,” says Angie King. “It was not a clean sweep this time, but we are happy to take the 4-hour win. As I always tell people, Miata is always the answer.”

Backed by Mazda Philippines, Team MSCC Mazda Miata also came to the track with a support team led by Edgen Dy-Liacco.

See Also

The car was nearly identical to the one-make MSCC Miata Spec Series race car, but differing only with minor setup changes to the suspension and chassis specially tuned for the endurance race. But the car still uses the original-spec and stock powertrain-from its 184 PS, 205 Nm 2.0-liter Skyactiv-G engine and 6-speed Skyactiv-Drive manual transmission known for its performance and reliability.

The use of race car number “55” pays homage to the Mazda 787B which won the 1991 24 Hours of Le Mans.